Do you have a case of a “dripping/leaking” dog?

I often take my dog, Storm, into doggie daycare at Mini Critters to help get rid of her never ending energy. They are just wonderful with her and I am pleased with their service. I pick Storm up and she comes out with red eyes on her sleepy face. I tell her to jump into my CR-V and she looks at me with her eyes asking if she really has to. She eventually looks at the seat and estimates how much energy she will have to exert to be there and then jumps in.

Every day that Storm goes into daycare, she has a report card with her when being picked up. It often lists who she played with and anything special that day.

I started to receive report cards with comments such as, “Storm is leaking… Storm is dripping…” I called my vet’s office regarding this and they mentioned that she probably has to go the bathroom but is having so much fun that she wont take the time to hurry and squat. It seemed like a rational answer so I disregarded Storm’s “leaking” issues.

Not too long after I called my vet’s office, Storm started to get “dripping” comments again. The daycare mentioned that they had become worried about her and had to follow her around with a mop. They got a hold of me and tried to get me to take her to the vet. They also asked me if I noticed any little, pools of urine under Storm.

I mentioned that nothing seemed to come to mind. I remembered seeing a pool of liquid a couple times but she constantly licks her paw, but I figured it was just slobber.

I decided to take her to the vet for her “dripping” issues. We found out that her pH levels were off (Ok Chemistry geeks—do you remember what pH level is considered neutral?).

We decided to change her food and give her “Uroeze.” Uroeze comes in both powder and tablet form, however the powder seems to work the best. I noticed that it began to work instantly. So, that is something to ponder about if you find yourself with a “dripping/leaking” dog problem.

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

2 thoughts on “Do you have a case of a “dripping/leaking” dog?”

Leave a Reply

