Probiotic Mission

Somehow, I was lucky enough to pick out a puppy that seems to be as sick as me (I have Lupus). She is constantly getting smelly ear infections, which I admit is partially my fault for not always being diligent and cleaning them. About every three to six months she has a “sick day” which entails her vomiting and not being able to keep anything down. So I am on a mission to find a probiotic that will help her with these issues. I hope to find a “cure-all” but know that idea is far-fetched.

My first product to test was Probiotic Miracle by Nusentia (www.nusentia.com) which starts at $25.99. They have the “Miracle Pack” which contains Enzyme Miracle and Probiotic Miracle. I didn’t want to spend a lot to find out both products don’t work so I just bought the one. I didn’t notice much of a difference when she was on this except that maybe she passed less gas. Not quite what I am looking for, but it is nice that I don’t have to smell those noxious fumes as often as I used to!

Every day I would place two little scoops on her food. At first, she wasn’t too excited about the taste; she would try to eat around the little area where I put the probiotics. After a while, she didn’t seem to notice and would lick her bowl clean.

On the nutrition label it reads that this product is a blend of:
• Bifidobacterium animalis is a fancy name for bacteria which can be found in the large intestine of you and me, or any other mammal.

• Lactobacillus acidophilus is found in the mouth, gastrointestinal tract or vagina of a mammal and is killed if taken by an oral antibiotic. This strain can improve bowel regularity and can prevent diarrhea.

• Lactobacillus rhamnosus resides in the digestive tract and produces lactic acid.

• Lactobacillus fermentum can be found in the intestinal tract of humans and animals. It may prevent and treat certain health problems, such as allergies or bowel disease.

• Lactobacillus reuteri is found in the gut and helps fight off other harmful organisms and hold off the growth of E. coli.

• Lactobacillus salivarius is a strain of bacteria that produces toxic enzymes for unwanted bacteria and is a benefit to dental health as well as gut health. “Animal testing confirmed that Lactobacillus salivarius improves the immune system response to simulated colitis and also septic shock.” (source: http://www.probiotic.org )

• Inulin (probiotic) is mostly used in processed foods to replace fat or sugar. It also increases calcium absorption and is considered a form of soluble (dissolvable if in a liquid) fiber.
I only have a couple of scoops left before I start a different product. Another blog will be in the works for that…

Source for probiotic information: http://www.wikipedia.org

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

2 thoughts on “Probiotic Mission”

  1. I am sorry to have recently learned on your post about your Fibro/Lupus and your migraines. Now, I feel bad about poor Storm, but glad he has you for an owner, who understands about things not always being perfect. Some owners would not be as caring and careful as you are, my dear! Take it easy, kiddo! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

