First Writing Piece

A couple years ago I decided to work on what I love – to write. My friend had recently started her new business website and asked if I wanted to write something as a guest blogger. Did I ever?!? It was something that I have wanted in a long time but never started. While growing up, I loved the idea of being an author, writing every day and perhaps even get as far as writing a novel.

You can find the original at: http://www.thepositivityeffect.com/2011/01/16/first-day-by-jenny-whetzel-guest-blogger/ . She has other good articles that you can read regarding being in a positive mind-set. I highly suggest you check it out! 🙂 However, if you don’t have time to see what’s on her page, here is what I wrote:

 

First Day by Jenny Whetzel Guest Blogger Posted  by Rebecca Wiener on Jan 16, 2011 in Happiness, Pets, Positivity, Wellness

As far back as I can remember, I have always had a love for animals. Girls played with their Barbie and Kens, while I played with my animal figurines. Girls boasted about what they would name their future child, while I boasted what kind of animal I was going to have and the name I chose for it.

My first pet was a beautiful calico kitten I brought home from my grandparents farm. The name Patches seemed fitting. Like most kittens, Patches got into things she shouldn’t have. So I had to take her back to the farm. But I was comforted knowing that I knew where she was and that I would be seeing her every other weekend or so.

That was not the end of animals in my life. Since then I’ve had a mouse (Snicklefritz), a lizard (Zibbs), and a sugar glider (flying squirrel that I named Tequila). My parents had their dogs – first a German Sheppard, next was a Rottweiler and last a Maltese. But I was never able to get my own dog. No matter how much I begged, pleaded and tried to compromise my mother never gave in. Her excuse was the generic, “If you live under my roof, you live by my rules.” Her rules never did seem fair but she was wise. She knew if she gave in, she would be the one feeding the dog and picking up the poop in the backyard.

Eighteen months ago I bought my very first dog, an American Bulldog. What bliss! The breeder would send me updated pictures of her every other week, and all I could think about was bringing her home and the adventures we would have. I decided to name her Storm and she soon lived up to her name.

The breeder gave me a rag with her mother’s scent on it when I brought her home to make the transition easier. The time came for me to put her in the kennel for the first time. I decorated it with a couple of toys with a soft, fuzzy blanket on the bottom. I also made sure I remembered to put the rag in there.

She started to whine and it took all my strength to not open the kennel, scoop her in my arms and tell her everything was ok. “Don’t give in. If you give in, she will expect it and whine every time,” I kept telling myself.

I began to feel less guilty when I could hear the crying come to a stop. But then the whimpering began. I looked at her large kennel down the hall in my bedroom. She whimpered as she was trying to cuddle with the rag, the only scent she knew. My heart began to break and tears streamed down my cheeks. I just felt so awful that I had to be strong and not give in. And I wondered what was wrong with me; I had always been a strong person. I could easily watch a sad movie and not have one tear in my eye.

As I calmed myself down and could breathe at a normal pace, I called my mother. I began to tell her what recently happened and began to sob again while talking to her. To this day I still cannot talk about it without crying (And apparently, I can’t even write about it as tears are now beginning to trickle down my cheeks and my nose is beginning to run).

“If this is what it’s like having a dog, what the hell am I going to do when I have a child,” I asked my mother between gulps of air. She chuckled on the other line as it was obviously that I began to know what it is like to be a mother and what a softie I became within just hours of getting her.

It is amazing how one creature can make such an uplifting impact on a person’s life. I’ve always had unconditional love for my parents, but this feels like a different kind of unconditional love. I thank Storm for giving me such a wonderful a life lesson. I know that my life would be emptier without her. Jenny Whetzel is currently in the process of writing her first novel. Until it is finished you can find more of her work on her website  https://paws2smile.wordpress.com/

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

9 thoughts on “First Writing Piece”

  1. Hi! We (Ray and I) have just been advised that you are now a Follower of our blog. Thank you so much. Ray is very good at giving me material to write about, and I really enjoy doing the writing (he’s pretty bad on the keyboard anyway), so I hope you enjoy our “joint efforts”. Thanks again. Colin.

    1. Haha it’s so crazy… I am pretty sure I started following you a little before now. But when I was on another device, I went to my WordPress app and it showed that I was not following you even though I knew I was. It seems as though they are sometimes really not syncing everything together or something like that. Because I have noticed that one other time before. I use the app on my iPhone, Kindle and also come online on my laptop.

      I don’t know why it does this but it’s frustrating. Lol So if it showed that I followed you then unfollowed you then followed again, I never meant to stop following you. You follow? LOL

Leave a Reply

