To That Big Doghouse In The Sky

I wrote this about three years ago but it is still one of my favorites.

paws2smile

I look into my parent’s dog’s green gook covered eyes as I spend my last minutes with her. We just found out she has kidney failure and my parents made an appointment for the next day to put her down. She is lying in her little, pet bed in her wire cage, curled up in to a small ball. On her bed are a several different towels since she can’t seem to keep anything down, not even her favorite treats. She is a mere five pounds from the 14 pounds months ago. Not only can you feel her bones, but you can see them by just looking at her. Her bright white, fluffy hair is now greasy and thin. She doesn’t even realize I am there until I touch her. She sits up while her head lightly sways side to side as she doesn’t have the energy or muscle to…

View original post 490 more words

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

2 thoughts on “To That Big Doghouse In The Sky”

  1. Oh, you have tears forming in my eyes… sorry even awhile later at the loss of your parents’ pet. Such a sweet but sad story. I am so glad about the lessons learned from their beloved dog. Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

