What the … ?

The other day my boyfriend mentioned that Storm has been licking her feet so much again that it’s begun to bleed. Not uncommon for her; she does it all the time and I stop her whenever I can. Sure enough, I have seen light blood spots on the carpet here and there.

I took her out this morning and she wouldn’t even walk on the one paw that she has been favoring. She just holds it up in the air the whole time.

Once we got inside the apartment, I made her lay down so I could check out her paw. This is what I found:

20140306-170522.jpg

My poor baby. 😦 I have no idea how to take care of this. So far, I have been putting a paper towel over the foot then placing two sandwich bag over that (I tried just one bag earlier & it easily tore the bag open defeating it’s purpose).

I am also not sure how this happened. I thought that perhaps part of the pad got stuck on the ice then was ripped off? Or can dog allergies get this bad??

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

6 thoughts on “What the … ?”

    1. Yeah, I know she has allergies and have known for a couple years now. Just not sure to what though. I’m thinking it’s maybe dust, ragweed or something along those lines because it bothers her more during the warm/hot months.

      I have finally decided to take her into the vet. Everyone I talked to all said to so hopefully the vet office has a spot open tomorrow yet!

      It was nice to hear from you 🙂

      1. I always enjoy your posts, but when I stop and comment too much, the reader punts me back to the beginning and I’m always missing stuff. So I am often the silent reader in an effort to get through more. I felt for your dog. My cat had allergies — special diet, special litter, but it did clear up the problems. I miss him.

  1. The paw may need some kind of antibiotics or antifungal ointment. I have used ‘human’ meds on my animals in the area of topical applications, never oral ones. I do think that a friend or a call to the vet may lead you to a good solution. The baggie approach is good also to keep her from licking it, if that is possible… Smiles, Robin

  2. Oh, second thought, if people would maybe use natural de-icing forms, like kitty litter and sand, the salt may have caused this reaction… Glad you have an appt. and good luck with this, too! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

