Going to Try and Get Back on Track!

I know, I know; where did I go? Here I was typing blog posts and commenting on your own posts and then pretty much nothing. You want to know what has caused my sudden absence??

COLORING.

colors

Yes, coloring. I have always had a love for it but it was deemed more of a ‘child’s hobby.’ But now it’s not and it’s wonderful! πŸ™‚ I really can’t color that great but hoping to pick up a couple tips. And the sad reason why I’m so excited with this new hobby? I suck at color matching. One of the reasons why it blows goats living alone is that I have no idea what matches. My sister is the smart one in that area, not me. It has even taken place of my READING. I love to write, but love to read more than writing. I was a decent number of books ahead of my goal on Goodreads but now I’m only two books ahead. And that may not be of importance to you but my fellow bookworms know the horror. So yes, coloring has taken over everything. Hahaha!

BUT…

I am going to try to get back on track and read more of your posts, interact with your posts and finish some books. πŸ™‚ Oh and if for some reason you see me re-following your blog again, please know I never decided to stop. It seems WP has either had a bug or they are changing things again and that caused an un-follow.

 

 

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

34 thoughts on “Going to Try and Get Back on Track!”

    1. I just got my first adult coloring book. Started coloring today and it was relaxing. Great way to take your mind off of things. Love Color!

      1. Yay!!! πŸ™‚ I agree! It’s something I can do where I don’t think about anything. Except what crime is going on in the city. Ironically, I color not to think about anything but listen to the police scanner as I do it! Hahaha! But I also very much enjoy listening to the scanner. πŸ™‚

      2. Police Scanner.!? Interesting. I saw that in a movie once. How the character enjoyed the soothing sound of the police scanner. πŸ™‚ Interesting it’s something a real person enjoys. I think I might color outside the lines too much if I listened to a police scanner. πŸ™‚
        Whatever soothes you, good for you!

      3. Me too! I found one at walmart. So I got it.
        Teachers always griped at me I guess.
        Some people color light, but I like a strong color that you can see.
        Did you pick these colors? It looks great to me!
        I am thinking of making pages to color for people. Things that they want to color. Kind of like a personal color book.
        I know a lot are out there, but how many have what you really want in it? Some of mine is….okay..some are boring.
        I would do it as line art. And they can be printed off your computer. Pay with paypal. Or I can mail them.
        I have a really cool printer that only prints black. I forgot how it works, but you never run out of ink!
        I am also thinking of some other stuff we all used to do that is similar, but for smaller kids.
        I like all kinds of designs. Art deco, and the others like that. Guess im having a brain fart now….or its past my bedtime…oh…Art Noveau and lots of others.
        I used some designs to sandblast designs into the back of a mirror. Looked great. And also some lit up with a night light.
        I did a lot of glasswork. I miss doing that.
        But coloring is fun! πŸ™‚

      4. Well, thank you! πŸ™‚ Yes, I did pick these colors and this is one of my favorites that I had done. You know where has some good coloring books? Barnes and Noble! I never really would have guessed there but they have tons! And they are pretty decent ones as well. I went to Michael’s not too long ago and they have a horrible selection! I was surprised by that as well. I am definitely picky about them though, I won’t color in just any. I ordered a very easy one online because it was hilarious. It is titled, ‘Unicorns are Jerks.” Hahaha! The coloring pics are soooooo funny! Like one is where it says they pass gas in elevators but pretend it wasn’t them that did it. LOL! I also like to color hard! LOL! If you are considering selling your own, I suggest getting on the band wagon now while they are still a hot item. πŸ™‚ Hmmm… Art Noveau…that sounds familiar, I think I have one of theirs…

        Ohhhhhh glasswork, that would be fun! πŸ™‚

    2. LOL Right?!? Normally that’s the way my thought process is! πŸ™‚ I didn’t think I would ever like anything more that reading! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the visit and comment!

  1. I, too, love to color but I feel guilty when I do it, like I should be doing something else. And then I get sucked into the most intricate of designs that will take forever to finish and I just give up and go back to quilting.

    1. I also feel guilty at times when coloring. But then I take into consideration how content it makes me. I consider it another form of meditation as I don’t worry or think about things. But quilting must be your zen & that’s fantastic! πŸ™‚

      1. Im going to make a quilt one day…but then i’ve said that for a few years too. πŸ˜‰
        I think it would be fun.
        And I wished I knew how to crochet. .but im left handed.
        I saw where Wal-Mart has books on left handers now. So…maybe I might try it. πŸ™‚

      2. try a rag quilt – those are so much fun to do! And if you know someone right handed who crochets, sit in front of that person and do what they do – that’s how we taught my left handed niece. πŸ™‚

      3. I will have to look up the rag quilt. I think I have seen them, but im not sure. Sounds fun though!
        I tried the sitting across my grandmother and doing the crochet. ..somehow I couldn’t do it, I don’t know why…
        I used to buy things crochet off ebay. I really love them. One is a black raven. It is So gorgeous. I keep it wrapped. I don’t want dust on it or someone messing them up. I think it is larger than 12 inches across!
        It is packed away in storage. And I need to get it out.
        We did the embroidered tea towels too. πŸ™‚ we would just sit and do it. My grandmother was a seamstress and worked in a dry cleaners too. I did that too once in my life. She taught my dad how to sew too. He was very good at making buttonholes too. I can do them by hand or machine.
        I like to watch some of the quilting shows on tv when they come on. I can’t believe I have never made any yet.
        What do you crochet? It would be nice to see some of your work on here. πŸ™‚
        I also collect the vintage embroidered pillowcases. They don’t make them like that anymore. And the cotton is so soft! Much different than todays.
        And I used to collect handkerchiefs too. I had lots of them. I finally sold most of them but kept my favorites. So many kinds! The bridal ones were pretty too. And I collected the different countries too.
        Ebay used to be fun. I don’t know if anyone is making any money off there anymore or not.
        This house Is not big enough for my collections. Lol. It used to be a hunting/fishing cabin. One of the first ones here a long time ago.
        I guess I could put some of them in glass and hang them….that would keep them looking nice.
        I have some of the old vintage iron ons for pillowcases too.
        I really like to sew. πŸ™‚

      4. I remember when they didn’t have left handed scissors. .I used right handed ones and it wasn’t very easy.
        I do love the invention of the rotary cutter though! πŸ˜‰

    2. When I get a design that is complicated, I will think about the colors. Color some. And then put it down if it is overwhelming me. And I can come back later and do more. I just do some in steps. And it can be more relaxing rather than finishing one all at once.

      1. I do that sometimes as well. I don’t think about color so much though. But I will color some then look at it from far away to judge what to do next. And yes, sometimes it is too much so I will do a little then go on to something else for a while. πŸ™‚

      1. And you can get more pencils or a bigger selection at a Hobby Lobby or a art store. Or a place called Dick Blick. They have everything you can think of. Online or catalog.

      2. Very true! I went to Michael’s and they didn’t have much of a selection. I will check out Dick Blink, have never heard of it before. Thanks for the suggestions! πŸ™‚

    1. Walmart has a lot more books now.
      Barnes & Nobles are about a hour or maybe a lottle more from where we are. 😦

  2. Pretty! Which books are you currently reading? There’s this Day of the Dead coloring book that looks pretty good to me. I just might get it…

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I know I saw one Day of the Dead coloring book at Barnes and Noble that I wanted to get. Eventually I am sure I will. Haha!

      Currently I am reading:
      1. Bossypants by Tina Fey
      2. I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb annnnnnd…
      3. Radical Acceptance: Embracing Your Life With the Heart of a Buddha by Tara Brach

      Are you currently reading anything?

      1. Just finished The Dragon and the Phoenix, by Eric Chou, about sex in Chinese history. Lots of interesting anecdotes. Now I’ve started on a collection of short French detective stories. It has two by Maurice Leblanc, one of my favorites, so I’m expecting to like it a lot. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

