World Lupus Day

 

Yes, today is World Lupus Day! Get the word out as much as you can!

Flares are a bitch. You never know how long it will last or when it decides to pop up. In high school, I always became sick with something right when school would start up in September. I wasn’t diagnosed yet but we just blamed it on bad luck. When was I diagnosed? In August, just a few weeks shy of starting college as a freshman. My mom and I can’t help but wonder if the stress of going back to school is what caused me to be sick around that time. And that perhaps, in high school I had Lupus all along.

Isn’t the common flare trigger above just crazy? But it is the truth; Lupus really restricts your life. Consider no longer being able to spend hours outside in the sun without the proper equipment such as sun block, a hat, shade and clothing that covers most of your body. Not only does the sun bother me but the heat (or humidity) as well. If I spend an amount of time in the heat, I usually need to go somewhere with cool air and nap otherwise I am basically a zombie.

That is all I can do for now. Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Author: paws2smile

I am a geeky animal lover and have an American Bulldog named Storm. Storm is my everything. She helps keep me sane by being my companion pet. I am an expert in chronic pain as I have Systemic Lupus, Fibromyalgia and migraines. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2000 and the rest followed after that year.

11 thoughts on “World Lupus Day”

  1. It is insane how easy it is to trigger a flare even when you’re working hard to avoid it! I know what you mean, having spent years blaming bad luck for feeling down and out every time life got stressful or for weeks after getting the sniffles. I do hope you are keeping well and that if you are stuck in a flare at the moment, that you find relief soon. Take care. xoxo

    1. Thank you so much. I think I’m out of the flare but still dealing with some annoying symptoms. I have been a little MIA in the blogging world lately but hope you are doing well! Take care as well! xoxo

  2. It is good to learn some facts about Lupus. I do think chronic illnesses are being recognised more these days, but there is still along way to go to understanding them.
    I hope you pick up again soon. It seems that just living is a trigger! Take care of yourself and hug your doggie Storm πŸ™‚

  3. It is good that awareness is starting to help people give $$ to figure out chronic illnesses.Flares are definitely stress related, but what isn’t stressful? My flare this week has taken my right wrist (for me that is where it always starts) and my hips. I type anyway, because, as you know, that is what we do. And, I walk dogs, and walk dogs, and walk dogs, so that I get out of this chair and move. Storm understands. You are finding your way and that is what is important. – Lorian of DogDaz Zoo

    1. Lol sometimes I don’t think she understands. Certainly doesn’t act like it anyway! Ha! I hope your flare is less active than what it was about a week ago!

  4. It is a very important cause, Lupus can be debilitating. Thanks for your feature and letting us know May is the month to wear this color, too. Take care and sorry I keep missing opportunities to stay in touch, old friend (who is young!) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

