NaNoWriMo 2015

It’s November! And for writers that means NaNoWriMo is here! National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a month long process in November where the goal is to write 50,000 words (boils down to roughly a 150 page book). If you are interested, check it out: http://www.nanowrimo.org   

I started this a few years ago but sadly have not yet been able to reach 50,000 words. Every year I try but then fail for whatever reason(s), and end up being frustrated with myself. The last few years the reasons have been due to health reasons.

I wasn’t going to participate this year. I thought, ‘I’m never able to finish so why keep trying?’ That was until I listened to my friend/old co-worker’s podcast. You can find that here: http://www.sarahwerner.com/nanowrimo-and-you-wn-027/    You should check it out if you like to write anyway, it’s very informative. In it, she mentions that she also has struggled with this and suggests of maybe trying a different approach with it. Such as by making a goal you know that you can accomplish. Why didn’t I think of that?!?

Now I am feeling motivated and excited! I really haven’t set a goal to reach so many words, just to do my best. So far I have a little over 850 words and you know what? I’m perfectly happy with that. 🙂

Are you participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo?

And with it being November, the trees are beautiful all around us. Below are some shots I took with Storm while playing in the leaves.

 

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It’s a good thing she is adorable, she likes to challenge me quite a bit!

      Yeah, check it out! Some popular authors started on it before they became “big.” I think they said the person that wrote Water for Elephants originally wrote it one year. And we now know it became a bestseller. 🙂

  1. Please don’t be hung up by NaNoWriMo. It works for some but not others. 50,000 words is a good book size and getting there howsoever you choose is what is important. You have a wonderful story to tell, and plenty of time. Just find the writing pattern that works! 🙂

Leave a comment